When the Earl of Dysart transferred the freehold of Petersham Common to Richmond Town Council in 1900 he specified that it be managed by Petersham Common Conservators, and this continues to be the case. The 9 Petersham Conservators comprise the Councillors from Ham, Petersham & Richmond Riverside and South Richmond Wards and three elected by the Vestry. The Conservators contract a Woodland Manager to carry out a woodland management plan that maintains the Common, increases biodiversity and provides educational opportunities. A number of local groups volunteers to help with activities on the Common and the Conservators want to encourage more people to explore this historic woodland and the opportunities it offers to enjoy the biodiversity. 

Petersham history

Estimated around 1912 - view of Petersham Common from intersection with Star and Garter Hill (Road)